Havre Daily News - News you can use

37 candidates file for Rocky Boy election


A total of 37 candidates have filed for four available seats on the Chippewa Cree tribal council.

The election will be held June 4 from 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. in the gymnasium of Stone Child College.

The top eight vote-getters will advance to the Nov. 4 election. Winners will serve four-year terms.

People who are eligible to vote must be an enrolled member of the tribe, 18 years of age or older on election day, and must provide proof of enrollment with a tribal ID card at the polling place. No other source of identification will be accepted.

The four incumbents are seeking re-election. They are Brian "Kelly" Eagleman, Bruce Sunchild Sr., Jonathan Windy Boy and Duncan Standing Rock Sr.

The other candidates on the ballot are:

Larry Morsette Jr., John Chance Houle, Russell Standing Rock, Debbie St. Pierre, Enos R. Johnson Sr., Marva Stump Sunchild, Luke Parisian, Leon Blackie Sutherland,

Harvey Friede Sr., Russell Houle Sr., Mario Patacsil Sr., Joseph J. LaFromBoise Jr., Bert Corcoran, Gibby Russette, Duane Raining Bird, Virgil Lee (Tick) Henderson, Jason Belcourt, Gaile Rock Torres, Melvin Billy, Russell T. Gopher, Joe Big Knife, James R. DuBois,

Kenneth C. Writing Bird, Earl Charles Arkinson, Arthur "Ozzie" Windy Boy, Clinton "Chewees" Small, Lois J. Gopher, Sybil Sangrey, Lana M. Turner, Jay Eagleman, Tim W. Rosette Sr., Roger St. Pierre and Arnold Four Souls.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 09/11/2020 00:03