Havre Daily News - News you can use

Commissioners named


Two area county commissioners have been appointed to committees of the National Association of Counties by NACo president Kenneth Mayfield.

Hill County Commissioner Kathy Bessette was named to the Agriculture and Rural Affairs Steering Committee. The committee focuses on farm legislation affecting the economy of agricultural counties, trade legislation as it affects agriculture, rural development programs, soil conservation, and agricultural land preservation.

Blaine County Commissioner Vic Miller was named to the Labor and Employment Steering Committee. The committee addresses such issues as employer/employee relations, equal employment opportunity, collective bargaining, fringe benefits, workers' compensation and occupational safety and health. The steering committee also focuses on employment and training programs, welfare reform, youth employment, vocational education, migrant and Native American programs and rural manpower.

NACo's 11 steering committees form the policy-making arm of the association. Each committee is composed of 60 to 100 county officials who meet several times during the year to examine issues critical to local government.

The steering committee's recommendations on legislative policies and goals are presented to NACo's membership during the association's annual conference. If approved, the recommendations become part of the "American County Platform," which is the basis of NACo's efforts in representing counties before Congress and the White House.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020