Scholarships awarded to five students


Five Havre High School seniors were awarded scholarships worth as much as $1,000 each from local benefactors on Sunday.

The awards were presented at a luncheon hosted by the Havre Public Schools Education Foundation, a nonprofit organization that raises money to support public education in Havre. Names of scholarship winners were released by Havre Public Schools Superintendent Kirk Miller this morning.

Three of the five scholarships were memorial scholarships.

Angela Adams and Mario Pizzini were awarded the Dr. James and Kay Elliott Family Memorial Scholarship, which awards two $1,000 scholarships every year. There are no specific criteria for the award. The scholarship was established by the family of Dr. James and Kay Elliott. This is the third year it has been awarded. He died in 2000 and she died in 1999.

Adams was also awarded the Keith Turck Memorial Scholarship, worth $500. There are no specific criteria attached to the award, and it is selected with the help of a written essay. The scholarship was established by DeeAnn Turck and family in the name of Keith Turck, a long-time guidance counselor at Havre High School. Turck retired in 1995 and died in 2001 at age 63. This is the second year the scholarship has been awarded.

Jennifer Gorder was awarded the Bart Nolan Memorial Scholarship.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023