Havre Daily News - News you can use

RB election is Tuesday


Voters in the Rocky Boy school district will get a second chance Tuesday to elect two school board members.

Six candidates will be running for two three-year seats. They are Ted Whitford, Duane Gopher, Thelma Stanley, Kenneth Standing Rock Sr., Debbie St. Pierre and Patrick Chief Stick Jr. Whitford is the only incumbent.

The May 6 school board election results were scrapped by the Rocky Boy school board on May 9 after it learned that as many as 20 school district voters who live in Chouteau County had been turned away from the polls.

The Rocky Boy school district includes part of both Hill and Chouteau counties.

A new election was scheduled for May 13, but Rocky Boy school district clerk Greg Holmlund was contacted by the Secretary of State's Office on May 12 informing him that state law requires a notification period of several weeks before a new election could be held.

An official election notice from the Rocky Boy school board emphasizes that people from both counties will be able to vote.

"Notice is hereby given to ALL Hill and Chouteau County residents," the document said.

Voting will be held at the Rocky Boy Elementary School gymnasium from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Absentee ballots can be obtained from and turned in at the Rocky Boy School administration building. The latest they can be turned in is Tuesday at 4 p.m.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 03/07/2022 12:45