Hill County's drought status worsens to severe


HELENA - Nearly a third of Montana counties are pinned under the stifling heat and dry skies of severe drought, state officials concluded Thursday after getting a bleak update on conditions statewide.

The state Drought Advisory Committee designated 17 of the 56 counties as undergoing severe drought. A month ago, only two counties were in that category.

The counties tagged with severe drought status are Beaverhead, Carbon, Cascade, Chouteau, Flathead, Gallatin, Glacier, Hill, Jefferson, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Liberty, Lincoln, Madison, Sanders, Stillwater and Teton.

And there's no relief in...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023