Mosquito, city elections are on Tuesday


Ten candidates are vying for five seats on the Havre City Council in Tuesday's general election.

Also, voters in Havre and the surrounding area will decide whether they're willing to pay to have fewer mosquitoes.

In Ward 1, Republican Russ Luke is running against Democrat Pam Hillery. Incumbent Democrat Doug Larson decided not to run.

In Ward 2, incumbent Democrat Rick Pierson faces Republican Jerry Hanson for a four-year term, and Republican Terry Schend is running against Democrat Gary LaValley for a two-year seat.

In Ward 3, Republican Debi Rhines will try to unseat incumbent Democrat Jack Brandon.

In Ward 4, independent Christy Keto is challenging incumbent Democrat Emily Mayer Lossing.

Also on Tuesday, voters will decide whether to support funding for the Hill County Mosquito Control District, which includes Havre and an area 6 miles north to 6 miles south of Havre and extending 7 miles west of the city and east to the Blaine County line.

County officials project the district will cost $25 a year for the owners of a single-family dwelling, $25 for each unit in a duplex, $10 for each unit in an apartment complex, and $30 for each commercial structure.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Ward 1 residents vote at Havre High School. Ward 2 residents vote at Highland Park Early Primary School. Ward 3 voters go to the Montana State University-Northern Student Union Building. Polls for Ward 4 are at Lincoln-McKinley Primary School.

Those who live within the mosquito district but outside the city limits will vote in the basement of the Hill County Courthouse.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023