Lights dominant on first road trip of season


The Montana State University-Northern wrestling team put on a stellar showing in its first extended road trip of the season. The Lights thoroughly handled Sitanka-Huron University in a dual meet on Friday in Cody, Wyo. and dominated the Northwest College Invitational on Saturday in Powell, Wyo.

Northern's only blemish in the dual against Sitanka-Huron was the six points each team got for a double forfeit at 125 pounds. The Lights won every match with Caleb Schaeffer (133), Chris Smith (141), Stryder Davis (157), David Waters (174), Kyle Fisher (184) and Emmett Willson (HWT) all pinning their opponents.

The Lights two wins by decision were also solid wins as Anthony Haukenberry (149) defeated Adam Monroe 12-2 and Aaron Jensen eased past Mike Jeffrey 8-3. Northern's Mazi Burke also picked up a win by forfeit at 197.

On Saturday, the Lights put on an overwhelming performance at the Northwest Invitational. Thirteen Light wrestlers placed in the top three in their respective weight classes with three capturing titles and four sharing co-titles.

Senior Caleb Schaeffer grabbed the title at 133 with a pin of Tyler Wilcox of Western Wyoming. Anthony Haukenberry continued to wrestle well beating Luke Salazar of Northwest College, 6-4, to win the title at 149. Stryder Davis defeated Cort Peterson of Northwest, 3-1, to win the 157-pound title. At 184, Northern's Fisher and Jesse Juarez shared the title, while Willson and Burke shared the title at 197 pounds.

Smith finished second at 141 losing 5-2 to a very good wrestler in Northwest's Eric Sabot. Lance Nelson picked up a third-place finish at 149 while Jensen (165), Waters (174) and Chase Gormley (HWT) also had third-place finishes.

Northern will return to action on Thursday as the Lights travel to Rock Springs, Wyo. for a dual against Western Wyoming College. Northern will then travel to the always prestigious Cowboy Open hosted by the University of Wyoming on Saturday in Laramie.

MSU-Northern def. Huron University 49-6

125 - double forfeit; 133 - Caleb Schaeffer, MSUN pinned Tarik Lewis 2:58; 141 - Chris Smith, MSUN pinned Nathan Allison 2:56; 149 - Anthony Haukenberry, MSUN def. Adam Monroe 12-2; 157 - Stryder Davis, MSUN pinned Cory Bryant 2:02; 165 - Aaron Jensen, MSUN def. Mike Jeffrey 8-3; 174 - David Waters, MSUN pinned Eugene Pierre 5:56; 184 - Kyle Fisher, MSUN pinned Page Caudell 2:36; 197 - Mazi Burke, MSUN win by forfeit; HWT - Emmett Willson, MSUN pinned Anthony Finley 1:49.


133 - Caleb Schaeffer: 1st, pinned Tyler Wilcox, WWC 2:40

141 - Chris Smith: 2nd, lost by decision 2-5 to Eric Sabot, NWC

149 - Anthony Haukenberry: 1st, def. Luke Salazar, NWC6-4 149 - Lance Nelson: 3rd, def. Kyle Nay, DSU by default

157 - Stryder Davis: 1st, def.Cort Petersen, NWC 3-1

157 - Dale Seley: 3rd, def. Ryan Hall, MSU-N 3-2

165 - Aaron Jensen: 3rd, def.Travis Buhl, unattached 2-1

174 - David Waters: 3rd, def. Mike Casperson, WWC 5-2

184 - Kyle Fisher: 1st Co-Champ

184 - Jesse Juarez: 1st Co-Champ

197 - Emmett Willson : 1st Co-Champ

197 - Mazi Burke: 1st Co-Champ

HWT - Chase Gormley: 3rd, pinned Justin Hoag, DSU :54


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023