Havre Daily News - News you can use

Ice Hawk high school squad host Havre Invitational tourney


For people looking for fast-paced action mixed in with a little bit of physical intensity, they need to look no further than the Havre Ice Dome this weekend as the Havre Ice Hawk high school squad will host the Havre Invitational High School Hockey tournament starting today and running through the Sunday.

The Ice Hawks are returning home after a long stretch of road games and will open the tournament today at the 3 p.m. against a team from Shaunavon, Sask.

Havre will pull double-duty, taking on the Bozeman Stingers tonight at 7 p.m.

The tournament field also features teams from Bow Island, Alberta and Helena. In the round-robin format, each team will meet with the teams with the top two records meeting in Sunday's championship at 11 a.m. There will also be a consolation game for the teams with the third and fourth best record.

Team member for the Ice Hawks are Michelle Armstrong, Stephan Johnson, Austin Small, Josh Morse, Mark Larson, Shiloh Barrett, Scott Ladenburg, Michael Erickson, Michael Anderson, Jordon Patterson, Kaare Engebretson, Chaz Hurlburt, Tyson Anderson, Andy Myers, Zach Musson and Corey Stremcha. Havre is coached by Gary Stremcha and assisted by Gabe Musson.

The Ice Hawks are coming stretch of games where they finished with a 2-4-1 record.

On Dec. 29, Havre picked up a tough 2-1 win over Gallatin Valley. Daine Solomon scored Havre's first goal at the 11:49 mark in the first period, while Ben Erickson added the game winner late in the first period on an assist from Zack Musson.

The Ice Hawks dropped their second game of the day against Gallatin Valley, 5-1, as Andy Hanson scored Havre's lone goal with an assist from Corey Stremcha.

On Dec. 30, Gallatin Valley knocked off Havre again by a score of 6-3. Jordon Patterson, Chaz Hurlburt and Austin Small scored goals for Havre.

Two days later Havre competed in the Helena Invitational tournament, finishing with a 1-2-1 record. The Ice Hawks skated to a 0-0 tie with Miles City to open the tournament and fell to Missoula 3-1 later in the day. Shiloh Barrett scored Havre's only goal on an assist from Josh Strissel.

On the final day of the tournament, the host Helena Bighorns defeated the Ice Hawks 6-1 as Stremcha scored Havre's lone goal.

The Ice Hawks rallied later in the day with a 2-1 overtime win over Miles City. Andy Meyer scored the tying goal at the 14:56 mark of the third period while Josh Morse added the game winner in overtime.

The Havre Ice Hawk PeeWees had little trouble with the Butte Blue on Jan. 3 and 4, sweeping a pair of games in dominating fashion at the Ice Dome Havre opened with a 9-0 win on Jan. 3 as Shane Kemmer scored four goals to lead the offensive attack. Also scoring goals were Kyle Miller, Jesse Majeres, Tyler Miller, Willie DeVries and Nick Wood. Alex Sinclair stopped all nine shots on goal in the shutout.

A day later, Havre cruised to a 7-0 win as Kemmer scored two more goals in the win. Majeres, Adam Briese and Kyle Miller each had a goal and an assist, while Nick Wood and Nick Sunchild added goals. Cameron Schilling had six save in goal for Havre.

The Ice Hawk Squirts finished in fourth place at their own tournament on Dec. 3 and 4 at the Ice Dome.

Danny Roe led Havre in scoring in the tournament with three goals and four assists. Levi Wavrick and Kolton Brough scored two goals in the tourney. Other Havre players scoring goals were Blaine Grisak, Chase Rolf, Crysta Robinson, Justin Jensen, Jaclyn Evans, Ethan Hettinger, Nathan Welch, Tim Welch while Brandt Miller had a team-high six assists. Joey DeVries did the majority of goalkeeping for four games while Roe handled the duties for one game.

On Dec. 27, the Squirts dropped a 3-2 loss match to Great Falls. Jensen and Roe scored Havre's goals while DeVries was in goal for the Ice Hawks.

Havre rallied in the second game of the day as Roe scored two goals in a 5-3 win. Also scoring goals were Brough, Grisak and Wavrick while Miller had three assists in the win.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023