News you can use

Locals hoop it up at Hi-Line invitational

Ryan Divish

Havre Daily News Sports Editor

[email protected]

The Hi-Line Invitational high school basketball tournament is scheduled to start Thursday and run through the weekend at the Malta High School gymnasium.

As usual, tournament directoer Babes Bishop has put together a solid group of talented boys high school players from around the state of Montana.

This year's tournament will feature the much awaited debut of 6-10 sophomore Chris Roquemore of Bainville. Roquemore transferred to the small Class C school recently from Texas. He is regarded as one of the top high school basketball prospects in the country, according to several recruiting services.

Roquemore will be joined on the Class C squad by a pair of players from the State C champion Brockton Warriors. Point guard Casey Weston along with state tourney MVP Tyson Bauer join Big Sandy's all-state duo of Gage Brumwell and Jay Jamieson. Other members include Colby Bliss of Dutton-Brady, E.J. Aimsback of Heart Butte and Danny Iverson of Winnett.

The Class B squad features Harlem standouts Ben Carrywater and Jim Kennedy along with Wade Jacobsone of Cut Bank, Randy Elletson of Glasgow and Dane Fisher of St. Labre, who was named MVP of the prestigious Sheraton Invitational tournament.

The Class A team will have three players off the state champion Libby Logger team. Kyle Stantus, Josh Swartzendruber and Aaron Sutton will represent the Loggers. Also on the team is Havre's Cory Brothers, who recently signed to play with Montana State University-Northern.

Class AA will be led by Travis Hartman and Don DeGooyer of state champion CMR. Also on the squad is high-scoring guard Colter Smith of Kalispell and Josh Saunders of Great Falls High.


Reader Comments(0)