By Tristan 

USDA will help out area flood-stricken farmers


Farmers in Hill and Choteau counties are eligible for federal flood aid.

The counties have been designated as primary disaster areas from this spring's floods. That means they will be eligible for crop assistance and other help.

Farmers in Blaine and Liberty counties will be eligible because their counties are contiguous to Hill County.

Winter storms and blizzards hit hard this year in agricultural areas of central and eastern Montana. That was followed by record spring rainstorms and flooding across most of the state.

The designation allows allows farmers and ranchers to apply for crop assistance and other help.

The local counties were among 22 primary and 15 contiguous counties eligible for aid in Montana and North Dakota.

Interested farmers should contact local USDA offices.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021