News you can use

Three Skylights earn Frontier All-Conference for 2012 volleyball

In what has already been a great season, three Montana State University-Northern volleyball players have achieved the highest individual honor in the Frontier Conference.

The league released its 2012 All-Conference list Thursday night in Butte, and Northern standouts Hillary Isleifson, Abby Nicholas and Holly Cartwright were touted.

Isleifson earned Frontier First-team All-Conference for the second straight season. The senior outside hitter has 272 kills on the season and that total could have been higher had she not missed several matches early in the season due to an injury. Nicholas, a junior from Sandy, Utah, also earned First-Team honors in her first season at Northern. Heading into today's Frontier tourney opener against Montana Tech, Nicholas has totaled 332 kills and 98 blocks as a middle hitter.

Northern also saw Cartwright earn Second-Team honors from her libero position. The junior standout, and former Havre Blue Pony, is currently second in the Frontier in total digs.

Also making the list was former Big Sandy star Shersteen Cline. A senior at Tech, Cline was named First-Team All-Conference, as she is second in the Frontier in total kills.

Great Falls star hitter Kelsey Van Uden was named Frontier Conference Player of the Year, along with earning First-Team honors for the third season in a row. Kimmy Kavran of Montana Tech was named Libero of the Year and Freshman of the Year. Lewis-Clark State outside hitter Niurka Torbio was named Newcomer of the Year. Oredigger coach Brian Soloman, in his first season, was named Coach of the Year.

The Skylights are in Butte today to face Tech in the opening round of the Frontier tournament.

2012 Frontier All-Conference Volleyball

First Team

Ellie Graff, Caroll, Jr., MB, OH, Bozeman .; Kathleen Mulligan, Carroll, So., OH, Des Moines, Wash .; Treneisha Doyle, Lewis-Clark State, Fr., OH, Vancouver, Wash .; Niurka Toribio, Lewis-Clark State, Jr., OH, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; Hillary Isleifson MSU-Northern, Sr., OH, Carlyle, Sask .; Abby Nicholas, MSU-Northern, Sr. MB, Sandy, Utah; Shersteen Cline, Montana Tech, Sr., OH, Big Sandy; Kimmy Kavran, Montana Tech, Fr., L, Missoula; Korey Krumm, Montana Tech, So., MB, Anaconda; Anna DeWald, RMC, So., MB, Windsor, Colo .; Kelsey Van Uden, UGF, Sr., OH, Thousand Oaks, Calif .; Ashley Marchant, Westminster, Sr., OH, Sandy, Utah.

Second Team

Brianne Brown, Lewis-Clark State, Sr., RS; Spokane, Wash .; Holly Cartwright, MSU-Northern, Jr., L, Havre; Jamie Elenbaas, RMC, Sr., L, Billings; Esther Timofeyev, RMC, Sr., MB, Moses Lake, Wash .; Alyssa McEwan, UGF, So., MB, Bountiful, Utah; Emily Atkinson, Westminster, Jr., S, Salt Lake City, Utah.

All Freshman Team

Rebecca Sweeney, Carroll, OH, Des Moines, Wash .; Treneisha Doyle, Lewis-Clark State, OH, Vancouver, Wash .; Keisha Kennedy, Lewis-Clark State, MB, Vancouver, Wash .; Kimmy Kavran, Montana Tech, L, Missoula; Brea Mitchell, UM-Western, MB, Pocatello, ID .; Ahlea Billis, RMC, MB, Bozeman.

Abby Nicholas

Hillary Iselifson

Holly Cartwright


Reader Comments(0)