Havre Daily News - News you can use

Hard-hitting demolition derby closes the fair

Annual Jaycees Demo Derby thrills fans once again


Daniel Horton

Demolition derby contestant Ryan Erickson, left, smashes fellow driver Jimmy Albertson nearly out of the arena during the championship heat of the 2013 Jaycees Demolition Derby Sunday night at the Great Northern Fairgrounds. Erickson finished in first place in the event.

The Havre Jaycees Demolition Derby closed out another successful Great Northern Fair Sunday evening, and the crowd did not leave disappointed.

Seventeen derby cars, and three more herby derby cars gave fans from all over a great show at the Great Northern Fairgrounds. And after three regular heats, one consolation heat, and the finals, Ryan Erickson in the No. 18 car was the last derby car standing. Darren Stevenson won the herby derby in the No. 10 car. Stevenson also won the prize for best paint job, and Garrett Powell punched his ticket into the finals by winning the title of “most aggressive driver.”

Daniel Horton

All three cars collide in the Herby Derby which was part of Sunday night's Jaycees Demolition Derby at the Great Northern Fairgrounds in Havre. The derby drew a large crowd and, overall, had seventeen cars entered this year.

Also competing were Jon Stoner, Mark Gooch, T.J. Dalton, Jestin Brown, Austin Moore, Jimmy Albertson, Casey Schaub, Garrett Powell, Jake Brown, Calvin Vaughn, Kenny Erickson, Johnny Austin, Kaleb Freyholtz, Calvin Vaughn, Sandy Strauser and Chris Vaughn. The other two herby drivers were Ben Mader and Chad Hansen.

Stoner and Ryan Erickson won the first heat, and Albertson and Jake Brown took Heat 2. And Heat 3 was dominated by Freyholtz, Calvin Vaughn and Chris Vaughn, while Jestin Brown and Kenny Erickson battled back into the running through the consolation round.

With 10 cars in the finals, the arena was filled with flames and crashes. But with most of the contestants falling out of the running within the first couple minutes of action, Ryan Erickson and Albertson were left to battle it out. Erickson proved to be the top driver, as he drove Albertson out of the arena to end the 2013 derby with a bang.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 02/09/2018 20:53