Havre Daily News - News you can use

Havre, Rocky Boy, Box Elder, Harlem, Chester, Turner, Big Sandy results in


The newest three members of the Havre School Board of Trustees are Cindy Erickson, Timothy Scheele and Curtis Smeby.

Erickson gained the most votes out of the total 928 ballots turned in from noon to 8 p.m. Tuesday. Erickson received 706 votes, Scheele received 597 and Smeby received 545.

Mike Arnold was in charge of counting the ballots and said that he was pleasantly surprised with the number of voters who came to Havre High School to turn in their ballots.

The new members will be sworn in at 12:15 p.m.

Tuesday, May 13 at the Robins Administration building and will be established on the board at the school board meeting that night at 6:30.

At the meeting, they will vote for a new chair and cochair.


Turner voters OK'd a 20.53 mill ley increase for the high school building fund, 70-14. Elementary levy OK'd 68-15.

Big Sandy

Big Sandy's elementary levy was approved 131-53 according to unofficial results.

Box Elder

The two three-year terms go to Neal Rosette Sr. and Shane Sangrey. The one-year term went to Tim Rosette.


Donald "Duck" Horn, with 98 votes, and Michele Lewis, with 109, have won the two three-year terms.


Chester-J-I voters picked two school board members in a three-way race. Brad Kammerzell finished first with 515 votes, Chandra LaFranze was second with 405 votes. Kurt Kammerzell lost out with 349 votes.

Rocky Boy

Steve Parker and Teddy Russette III were elected to the Rocky Boy school board in an 18-way race. Incumbents Martin Parker and Russell Standing Rock were defeated for re-election.

Details in Wednesday's Havre Daily News.


In Chinook voting, technology fund levy passed 291-76. Building reserve fund OK'd 216-79.


Reader Comments

Who writes:

A school administrator was in charge of counting ballots electing his new bosses? Doesn't pass the smell test


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017