Havre Daily News - News you can use

By Alex Ross 

Havre voters reject mill levy, elect new council members


November 7, 2017

Havre voters Tuesday elected two new members to its city council and rejected a proposed property tax hike that would have paid to redo the city streets.

The proposed mill levy increase was rejected by voters 1199 to 1090. The increase would have generated an additional $750,000 a year, or $15 million over 20 years to redo the city streets. The increase would have cost owners of property within city limits with a taxable value of $100,000 an additional $89.50 a year and properties valued at $200,000 an additional $179.

Lindsey Ratliff defeated Marc Whitacre 346 to 313 votes in the race for the Havre City Council seat now held by Jay Pyette, Pyette opted not to run for re-election.

Sarah McKinney won a three-way race in Ward 4. McKinney garnered 197 votes. McKinney's challengers Will Lorett and Lorraine Pester received 73 and 60 votes respectively. McKinney will fill the seat now held by Matthew Boucher who decided not to run for re-election.

Havre Mayor Tim Solomon, City Judge Virginia Seigel, Ward one Council member Terry Lilletvedt and Ward two incumbents Karen Swenson and Denise Brewer were unopposed in their bids for re-election.

Chinook City Council member Mitch Haider in Ward 2 survived a challenge from James Hodgson for his Ward 2 seat. Haider received 83 votes to Hodgson's 72.

Chinook Mayor Keith Hanson was unopposed in his bid for re-election as were Ward 1 council members Robert Lee Smith and Meredy A. Phares. Smith was re-elected to a full term, while Phares was elected to complete an unexpired term.

Other local elections in Big Sandy, Hingham and Harlem did not have contested races. Candidates were elected by acclamation and no ballots were mailed out.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019