Havre Daily News - News you can use

FFA state convention held in Bozeman


April 17, 2019

From Montana FFA

More than 1,650 members and guests attended Montana FFA’s 89th Annual State Convention April 3-6 in Bozeman.

The Montana FFA State Convention hosted 12 career development events, general sessions and workshops during the four-day event. The winning teams earn the opportunity to compete at the National FFA Convention which will take place this fall in Indianapolis, IN. New state FFA officers are President Caroline Roeder, Choteau; First Vice President Lucas Oelkers, Culbertson, Second Vice President Isaac Sponheim, Richey; Secretary Emily Evans, Fairfield; Treasurer Andee Baker, Park City; Reporter Anna Slivka, Winifred; Sentinel Kyla Andres, Missoula, and Parliamentarian Andrew Ferrat, Broadwater.

The Beaverhead chapter from Dillon took home the title of Star Chapter. Mackenzie Serrano of Roundup was named Star Greenhand with Cole Dykhuizen from Kalispell being announced as the Star in Agribusiness. Montana’s Star in Agriculture Placement went to Ryle Elliot of Chinook, Tyler Eliasson of Roundup earned the title of Star Farmer and Jean Blackman of Cascade earned the Star in Agriscience award. Finally, the team sweepstakes title went to the Kalispell FFA Chapter followed by Missoula and Joliet. The sweepstakes award recognizes the chapter who places highest in four of the five major state convention competitions.

Over 250 Day of Service participants teamed up with three locations in the Bozeman area to lend a helping hand. The combined work effort of these student volunteers totaled over 500 hours to improve the city of Bozeman, as well as community businesses and organizations.

Montana Business and Industry representatives sponsored the event as well as promoted their businesses during the two-day FFA Tradeshow. The Montana FFA works to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

For more information, people, businesses and organizations can contact the Montana FFA Association for upcoming events and ways to get involved.

For contact information visit the Montana FFA website at http://montanaffa.org/.

Career Development Event Results

Agricultural Sales CDE

Individual: First place received a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by Billings Farmhand.

1. Kael Keltner — Prairie

2. Taylor McCormack — Belgrade

3. Joe Lackman — Forsyth

4. Lucas Oelkers — Culbertson

5. Kaitlin Garoutte — Stevensville

6. Ryan Robertus — Laurel

7. Teagen Turner — Missoula

8. Logan Turner — Missoula

9. Brandon Schnug — Forsyth

10. Cade McParland — Ruby Valley


1. Missoula FFA

2. Prairie FFA

3. Forsyth

4 Beaverhead

5. Joliet

Agronomy CDE

Individual: First place received a scholarship sponsored by Montana Seed Growers.

1. Caroline Roeder — Choteau

2. Amber Johnson — Choteau

3. Anthony Tatarka- Belgrade

4. Michael Zielinski — Stevensville

5. Joe Tatarka — Belgrade

6. Kylie Rhoades — Stevensville

7. Maria Bay — Kalispell

8. Kayla Hagan — Plentywood

9. Kalten Hendrickson — Missoula

10. Erin Taylor — Big Sandy


1. Choteau FFA

2. Belgrade FFA

3. Kalispell FFA

4. Stevensville FFA

5. Missoula FFA

Agricultural Technology and Mechanical Systems CDE (mechanics)

Individual: UTI Technical School offered a $3,000 to the third place individual, $5,000 to the second place individual, and $10,000 to the first place individual. The first place individual also received a $1,000 scholarship from General Distributing.

1. Noah Salo — Joliet

2. Tyler Haag — Ruby Valley

3. Justin Harris — Joliet

4. Kalten Hendrickson — Missoula

5. Caroline Roeder — Choteau

6. Max Andres — Missoula

7. Jyler Thompson — Broadwater

8. Cody Bicknell — Kalispell

9. Trenton Braaten — Broadwater

10. Aaron Lang — Kalispell


1. Joliet FFA

2. Missoula FFA

3. Kalispell FFA

4. Ruby Valley FFA

5. Broadwater FFA

Agriscience Fair

Overall winners in each area:

Animal Systems: Jayna Jackson — Corvallis

Power and Technology Systems: Charlie Palacios and Tiffany Loder — Corvallis

Plant Systems: Hannah Brence — Miles City

Environmental Sciences and Natural Resources: Sawyer Reagen — Missoula

Social Systems: Justice Betts and Meckenna Schroeder — Missoula

Food Products and Processing Systems: Emily Seifert and Liz Vorner — Corvallis

Creed Speaking CDE

1. Miya Ross — Gardiner

2. Nora Goodwin — Victor

3. Laney Helland — Corvallis

4. Brighton Lane — Huntley Project

Jr. Creed Speaking CDE

1. Gus Turner — Missoula

2. Katie Tooke — Carter County

3. Tandy Plaincheck — Stillwater Valley

4. Claire Stanley — Missoula

Extemporaneous Speaking CDE

1. Michael McKay — Corvallis

2. Andee Baker — Park City

3. Claire Stevenson — Hobson

4. Colton Young — Stillwater Valley

Farm Business Management CDE

Individual: The first place individual received a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by the Montana Farm Bureau Foundation.

1. Joe Tatarka — Belgrade

2. Anthony Tatarka — Belgrade

3. Cole Dykhuizen — Kalispell

4. Morgan Kelly — Kalispell

5. Hunter Burden — Kalispell

6. Tyler Haag — Ruby Valley

7. Kalten Hendrickson — Missoula

8. Nathan Blankenship — Prairie

9. Kadon Cheff — Kalispell

10. Caroline Roeder — Choteau


1. Kalispell FFA

2. Belgrade

3. Missoula

4. Park City

5. Miles City

Livestock Judging CDE

Individual: The first place individual received a $1,000 scholarship sponsored by Westfeeds.

1. Walker Anttila — Joliet

2. Trenton Braaten — Broadwater

3. Kaydn Braaten — Broadwater

4. Gunner Hathaway — Big timber

5. Coleter McWilliams — Missoula

6. Libby Twitchell — Miles City

7. Madeline Sutton — Kalispell

8. Jyler Thompson — Broadwater

9. Bailey Lake — Kalispell

10. Bethany Lyford — Kalispell


1. Broadwater FFA

2. Kalispell FFA

3. Big Timber FFA

4. Joliet FFA

5. Missoula FFA

Parliamentary Procedure CDE

1. Broadwater FFA

2. Kalispell FFA

3. Shepherd 1 FFA

4. Missoula FFA

5. Shepard 2

Prepared Public Speaking CDE

1. McKenna Quirk — Missoula

2. Larisah Moreland — Hysham

3. Anna Slivka — Winifred

4. Payton Sodt — Richey

Conduct of Meetings CDE

1. Plevna FFA

2. Joliet

3. Shepherd 2

4. Gardiner


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/20/2019 20:51