Havre Daily News - News you can use

Four honored with Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award


March 10, 2020

Press release

Four men of the north-central Montana area have received the Federal Aviation Administration’s highest award.

Roger Lincoln, Charles Inman, Robert Breum and John Hebbelman have received the Wright Brother’s Master Pilot Award.

Some of these men have over 60 years of flying.

Each has been an integral part of keeping general aviation active, airports open and safe in the area.

The award is the most prestigious award the FAA issues to pilots. This award is named after the Wright brothers, the first U.S. pilots, to recognize individuals who have exhibited professionalism, skill, and aviation expertise for at least 50 years while piloting aircraft as “Master Pilots.”

A distinctive certificate and lapel pin, and the airman’s Blue Ribbon package is issued after application review and eligibility requirements have been met. Upon request, a stickpin similar in design to the lapel pin is also provided to the award recipient’s spouse in recognition of his or her support to the recipient’s aviation career. Once the award has been issued, the recipient’s name, city and state will be added to a published “Roll of Honor.”

The requirements are:

• Hold a U.S. Civil Aviation Authority or Federal Aviation Administration pilot certificate.

• Have 50 or more years of civil and military flying experience.

• Up to 20 years of the required 50 years may be U.S. military experience.

• The effective start date for the 50 years is the date of the nominee’s first solo flight or military equivalent.

• The 50 years may be computed consecutively or non-consecutively.

• Be a U.S. citizen.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019