Havre Daily News - News you can use

All 56 Montana counties eligible for SBA coronavirus funding


March 23, 2020

Note: This was provided by the offices of Sens. Jon Tester and Steve Daines

Montana’s U.S. senators announced over the weekend that all Montana counties are eligible for additional funding under the Small Business Administration’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan Declaration.

“This is about giving our counties and working Montanans additional tools for relief they need during the coronavirus outbreak,” Daines said in a release. “I’m glad to have voted to secure this critical funding to help protect Montana small businesses from the economic impacts of the coronavirus outbreak. I will continue fighting for more relief and certainty for all Montanans.”

Tester said in a release the declaration will provide much-needed economic support for Montana’s main street businesses.

“I’m glad the SBA expanded their declaration to include our entire state, because we need to provide relief to Main Street businesses in every corner of Montana as soon as possible,” Tester said. “Small businesses are the backbone of our rural communities and the lifeblood of our state, so we’ve got to make sure they have the resources they need to keep the wolf away from the door. I’m going to keep fighting to make sure Washington doesn’t leave rural America behind in the face of this outbreak.”

Under the Phase I COVID-19 legislative package signed into law in early March, the SBA can issue an Economic Injury Disaster Loan declaration, which makes loans available to small businesses and private, nonprofit organizations in designated areas to provide relief from the effects of the COVID-19 outbreak.

The Economic Injury Disaster Loans offer up to $2 million in assistance per small business and can provide vital economic support to help overcome the temporary loss of revenue they are experiencing.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020