Havre Daily News - News you can use

District 9C All-Conference teams loaded with talent


March 27, 2020

Havre Daily News/Colin Thompson

Turner's Shyan Krass, left, was named District 9C All-Conference for the third straight season. Up next on the basketball postseason award's circuit is the annual Havre Daily News All-Hi-Line Girls Team, which will publish on Monday, and the All Hi-Line Boys Team, which will publish Monday, April 6.

It has been quite the year for District 9C basketball. The Hi-Line saw undefeated streaks, heart-stopping performances and, as always, intense battles within the 9C. Even though the season came to a sudden end because of the coronavirus concern in Montana, there were many great memories on the Hi-Line.

But to make those memories takes a lot of great players to step up and bring their best game. Many Hi-Line boys and girls basketball fans have watched an excellent year full of outstanding players, with many being recognized in the 2020 District 9C All-Conference selections.

On the boys side, the first team is loaded with multiple talented players. From the Fort Benton Longhorns, senior Garrett Diekhans and junior Hayden Diekhans, the dynamic brother duo, were selected. From the Chinook Sugarbeeters, juniors Ethan Bell and Reese Elliot, who have had an outstanding season together, made the list.

Seniors Ryan Roth and Clint Darlington of the comeback kings, the Big Sandy Pioneers, were chosen for the first team, as well. The last two boys first-team selections were seniors Spencer Richter of the Chester-Joplin-Inverness Hawks and Caden Rettig of the North Star Knights.

Then comes the second team selections. Seniors Hunter Neibauer of Chinook, Logan Giles of Fort Benton, Hayden Masser of North Star, Kade Strutz of Big Sandy and Caden Woods of CJI were recognized, followed by juniors Jace Thompson of the Longhorns, Shane Kimmel of Turner and Kadyn Duran of Box Elder.

Tyler Pasha, head coach for the Fort Benton Longhorns, was recognized as the 9C coach of the year for 2020.

Over on the girls side of the 9C, Fort Benton and Turner make up a good portion of the first team selections.

From the Longhorns, junior Aspen Giese, senior McKenzie Clark, who signed with the University of Providence Lady Argos for women's basketball and track, and junior Maci Molinario were recognized. Senior Sarah Billmayer and junior Shyan Krass were selected for the Tornadoes. The other three first-team spots went to sophomore Jade Wendland of North Star, senior Mulleeah Stiffarm of Hays-Lodge Pole and senior Sarah Parisian of Box Elder.

The 9C girls second team saw a lot of presence from North Star, with freshman Laynie Sattoriva, junior Kenidee Wolery and junior Shayla Borlaug chosen. From Fort Benton, senior Megan Clark and freshman Emerson Giese made the list. The last three second-team spots saw Tahtianna Whitecow-Morgan of HLP, sophomore Tatum Hull of CJI and freshman Breanna Bacon were chosen.

The 9C girls coach of the year was Cassie Pimperton of Fort Benton, giving the Longhorns two coaches of the year for the 2019-2020 season.

At the end of the day, the 9C see in the 2019-2020 season was an exciting one for the players and fans. From the Fort Benton dominance, the cardiac Pioneers boys, to the rise of the Turner girls, there was many great stories of the season. Despite the abrupt ending, many fans can remember the joys of the 9C when they look back on the season.

District 9C All-Conference

Boys All-Conference

First team: Garrett Diekhans, Sr., Fort Benton; Hayden Diekhans, Jr., Fort Benton; Ethan Bell, Jr., Chinook; Reese Elliot, Jr., Chinook; Ryan Roth, Sr., Big Sandy; Caden Rettig, Sr., North Star; Spencer Richter, Sr., Chester-Joplin-Inverness; Clint Darlington, Sr., Big Sandy

Second team: Hunter Neibauer, Sr., Chinook; Jace Thompson, Jr., Fort Benton; Shane Kimmel, Jr., Turner; Logan Giles, Sr., Fort Benton; Kade Strutz, Sr., Big Sandy; Hayden Masser, Sr., North Star; Kadyn Duran, Jr., Box Elder; Caden Woods, Sr., CJI

Coach of the year: Tyler Pasha, Fort Benton

Girls All-Conference

First team: Aspen Giese, Jr., Fort Benton; McKenzie Clark, Sr., Fort Benton; Sarah Billmayer, Sr., Turner; Shyan Krass, Jr., Turner; Maci Malinario, Jr., Fort Benton; Jade Wendland, So., North Star; Mulleeah Stiffarm, Sr., Hays Lodge-Pole; Sarah Parisian, Sr., Box Elder

Second team: Megan Clark, Sr., Fort Benton; Tahtianna Whitecow-Morgan, So., HLP; Laynie Sattoriva, Fr., North Star; Tatum Hull, So., CJI; Kenidee Wolery, Jr., North Star; Shayla Borlaug, Jr., North Star; Emerson Giese, Fr., Fort Benton; Breanna Bacon, Fr., Box Elder

Coach of the year: Cassie Pimperton, Fort Benton


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 09/27/2020 17:36