Havre Daily News - News you can use

Lights, Skylights race at home in Frontier Championships


Last updated 11/9/2020 at 9:02am

Havre Daily News/Colin Thompson

Montana State University-Northern's Beau Hyatt runs the course at Prairie Farms Golf Course in Friday's Frontier Conference Championships. Hyatt and the Lights finished an outstanding third.

They beat the blizzard. And they ran some really good times.

On Friday afternoon at Prairie Farms Golf Course, the Montana State University-Northern men's and women's cross country teams played host to the 2020 Frontier Conference Championships.

And it was a good day all the way around.

The Lights, of head coach Chad Spangler, placed a strong third. Northern had a team score of 2:19:54.10.

Altogether, there were 35 runners competing in the men's 8K race. Field Soosloff led the Lights running at 26:42.90, taking third place overall and earning him All-Conference honors. Brady Albus took 16th place with a time of 28:01:.50. Liam Baez-Terry passed the finish line in 19th place and right behind him was Kai Krumwiede in 22nd.

Rocky Mountain College won the men's team title, qualifying for the NAIA Championships next spring. RMC's Jackson Wilson won individual championship honors, while teammate Elijah Boyd was second. Carroll College was second, while Montana Western was fourth and Montana Tech was fifth.

On the women's side, the Skylights placed fifth overall. Northern had a team score of 1:48:22.2.

Havre Daily News/Colin Thompson

Northern's L'Tia Lawrence runs in 2020 Frontier Conference Championships Friday at Prairie Farms Golf Course. For more photos, go to www.havredailynews.com.

There were 40 individuals running in the women's meet. Sophomore Allison Tigert led the Skylights, as she crossed the finish line in 13th place with a time of 20:20.40. Kaylee Nystrom crossed the line in 21th place with a time of 20:59.9. L'Tia Lawrence crossed the finish line in 27th place with a time of 22:01.6. Grace Schwenk ran a time of 22:05.5 crossing the finish line in 28th place. Raini Jonson passed the finished line at a time of 22:55.0 in 31st place.

The Carroll women won the team title, while Reghan Worley took home individual honors. Montana Western finished second followed by Rocky Mountain College, Montana Tech.

The 2020 NAIA Championships was moved to April 2021 due to cornavirus. They will be held April 9 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. The Rocky men and Carroll women both advanced, while any individual in the Top 15 on the men's and women's sides will be considered for an at-large berth into the field.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020