Havre Daily News - News you can use

By Tim Leeds 

Hill, Blaine counties declared drought disaster areas by USDA

Added to list of declared counties, governor asks for statewide declaration


Last updated 7/8/2021 at 7:20am

The U.S. Drought Monitor shows drought status in Montana. Agricultural producers in Hill County and the contiguous counties - Blaine, Chouteau and LIberty - are eligible for drought disaster relief due to a declaration from Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack.

Editor’s note: This has been updated to include counties declared disaster areas Wednesday.

Multiple counties including Hill and Blaine counties have been added to the growing list of Montana counties declared drought disaster areas by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The declarations by Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack opens the opportunity for agricultural producers in those counties and in contiguous counties to federal disaster benefits.

Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack announced the designation of Hill and Wheatland counties Tuesday in a letter to Gov. Greg Gianforte and...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 07/28/2021 17:18