Havre Daily News - News you can use

Local school election results reported


Last updated 5/4/2022 at 1:53pm

Editor’s note: This version includes results from Rocky Boy Schools’ election, which were inadvertently left out of the original version of this story.

Havre Public Schools has released the unofficial results of the school board election, with incumbent Garrit Ophus and Christin Hileman having come in first and second place, respectively, for the two open seats on the HPS Board of Trustees, and the elementary general fund levy passed 1,168 to 977.

The results will not be official until the votes are canvassed, but all 2,206 ballots have been counted with none rejected.

Ophus received 906 votes with Hileman receiving 759. Tyler Gibson received 662 votes, with Erin Jensen getting 513, Miranda Hencz getting 506, Jason Castillon 425 and Shanetrice Allen 278.

The two winners of the election will serve three year terms on the board.

In the election at Rocky Boy Schools, Paulette Standing Rock won a three-year term with 31 votes. Lenore Myers received 28 votes, Ross Thomas Limberhand received 10 votes and Kenneth Standing Rock received eight votes.

In the unofficial results from Harlem Public Schools, Leslie J. Horn won a three-year term with 113 votes. In the race for that seat, Jackie Blackbird received 105 votes, John Young received 76 votes and Shawnae King received 66 votes.

In a race for a two-year term in the Harlem election, Kathleen Adams won with 172 votes, Tanya R. Cochran received 108 votes and Felicia Michelle Messerly received 82 votes.

In the unofficial results from North Star Schools in Gildford and Rudyard, an elementary general fund levy passed with 244 votes in favor and 60 votes against. An elementary building reserve levy passed with 248 votes in favor and 55 against and a high school building reserve levy passed with 270 votes in favor and 60 against.

Tiffany Melby and Bryan Watson ran unopposed for three-year terms in the North Star election and won by acclamation. A two-year trustee position had no candidates file and the board will declare the position open and move forward with procedures to appoint a trustee.

In Chinook, the elementary general fund levy passed with 219 votes in favor and 159 against. Kevon Elias, Scott DePriest and Ted Crowley were unnupposed and won their trustee races by acclamation.

In Turner, Kristin Jones and B.G. Ammen were unopposed in their races for three-year positions and won by acclamation.

Results from Hays-Lodge Pole, Big Sandy, Box Elder and CJI Schools in Chester were not available by deadline today.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023