News you can use

Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame Announces 2023 Inductees

From Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center

The Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center has announced its 15th class of inductions into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame.

For District 4 that includes Blaine, Chouteau, Hill, and Liberty counties, the Living award goes to Richard Dallas “Dick” Granell of Havre and the Legacy Award to Alfonse Valentine and Marie Theresa (Amssoms) Vercruyssen of Chinook.

The inductees were chosen from a field of candidates nominated by the general public. Inductees are honored for their notable contributions to the history and culture of Montana.

“The Hall of Fame exists to honor those who have made an impact in their part of the state and represent Montana’s authentic heritage for future generations,” said DuWayne Wilson, MCHF and WHC president. “Our volunteer trustees around Montana vote on nominations that come from the district in which they reside. This process gives the local communities a strong voice in who will represent them in the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame.”

The MCHF and WHC board of directors has designated 12 trustee districts across the state from which up to 20 trustees may be appointed. Nomination criteria established by the board for the Class of 2023 inductions allowed the election of one Living Inductee and one Legacy Inductee from each of the 12 districts.

The awards in the other districts this year go to:

District 1, Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt, Sheridan, and Valley counties:  Living: Jack and Andrea Billingsley of Glasgow; Legacy: John and Catherine Etchart of Tampico.

District 2, Dawson, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, and Wibaux counties:  Living: Glenda S., Childers Reynolds of Brusett; Legacy: Alfred Henry “Al” Johnson, Jordan.

District 3, Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, and Treasure counties: Living: Robert J. “Jim” Wilson of Alzada; Legacy: Laton Alton “L.A.” Huffman of Miles City.

District 5, Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, and Toole counties: Living: Alan Dennis “Skip” Joseph of Great Falls; Legacy: Charles Edward “Charlie” Morris of Great Falls.

District 6, Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, and Wheatland counties: Living: Wes and Tammy Schenk of Harlowton; Legacy: Irwin Conrad Allen of Ryegate.

District 7, Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, and Yellowstone counties: Living: Elãnna Skorupa aka: “Quackgrass Sally” of Bridger; Legacy: Robert Stuart Brownlee of Big Timber.

District 8, Broadwater, Jefferson, and Lewis and Clark counties: Living: Charles Gilbert “Chuck” Plymale of Townsend; Legacy: Wesley Robert “Wes” Synness of Helena.

District 9, Gallatin, Meagher, and Park counties: Living: Warren Howard Johnson of Gardiner; Legacy: Donald W. “Donnie” Johnston, White Sulphur Springs.

District 10, Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, and Sanders counties: Living: Thomas Michael “Tom” Harmon of Kila; Legacy: Hollister “Pat” McVay of Kalispell.

District 11, Mineral, Missoula, and Ravalli counties: Living: Robert M. “Dr. Bob” Brown of Missoula; Legacy: William M. “Bill” Holt of Lolo.

District 12, Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Granite, Madison, and Powell counties: Living: Daniel Calvin “Dan” Hill of Dillon; Legacy: Esther Marie (Johnson) McDonald of Philipsburg.

  The MCHF and WHC plans to honor these inductees during the MCHF Annual Induction Ceremony and Western Heritage Gathering Feb. 11, 2023, in Great Falls at the Heritage Inn. Look for more information as it becomes available on the center’s Facebook page and website.

Full biographies for past inductees are available on the MCHF and WHC’s website, This year’s inductees will be added to the website in the near future.

For more information, people can contact the MCHF and WHC at 406-653-3800 or email [email protected].


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 04/22/2024 14:04