Livestock forage losses trigger disaster assistance in 14 Montana counties


Last updated 10/11/2023 at 10:43am

Press release

Livestock producers in 14 Montana counties are eligible to apply for 2023 Livestock Forage Disaster Program benefits on small grain, native pasture, improved pasture, annual ryegrass, and forage sorghum.

The Montana counties that have triggered the 2023 LFP drought criteria are Blaine, Chouteau, Flathead, Glacier, Hill, Lake, Liberty, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Pondera, Sanders, Teton, and Toole.

 Producers must complete a CCC-853 and provide required supporting documentation no later than January 30, 2024, for 2023 losses.

LFP provides compensation if producers suffer grazing losses for covered livestock due to drought on privately owned or leased land, or fire on federally managed land.

County committees can only accept LFP applications after notification is received by the National Office of qualifying drought, or if a federal agency prohibits producers from grazing normal permitted livestock on federally managed lands due to qualifying fire.

Producers in these counties are also eligible to apply for benefits under the 2023 Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees, and Farm-Raised Fish Program (ELAP) for losses relating to feed transportation, livestock transportation and water transportation costs.  The deadline to file a Notice of Loss for livestock losses under ELAP is 30 days after the date that the loss is apparent.  Applications for payment must be completed no later than January 30, 2024, for 2023 losses. 

For additional information about LFP, including eligible livestock and fire criteria, people can contact the local USDA Service Center and/or visit and/or .


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 12/04/2023 08:36