Havre Daily News - News you can use

Voters speak in Blaine, Chouteau, Liberty counties


Last updated ERROR at ERROR

Several contested primaries were decided in Tuesday's election, with the voters selecting who will go on to the November general elections, or, in some cases, selecting the official who will take or remain in office next January.

In Blaine County, incumbent Commissioner Don Swenson won the Democratic primary, defeating challenger William Harbolt by a vote of 200-156 in the unofficial results.

All election results are considered unofficial until the vote can be canvassed, usually within a few weeks of the election.

Swenson wi l l go on to face Republ ican Frank DePriest i n November. DePriest received 171 votes in his uncontested race.

All other Blaine County races had uncontested primaries. Republicans Marvin Edwards will remain county coroner, and Wendy Oehmcke retained her seat as treasurer.

Democrats Glenn Huestis retained his position as sheriff, as did Clerk and Recorder Sandra Boardman, County Attorney Donald Ranstrom and Superintendent of Schools Lisa Stroh.

Perry Miller also retained his nonpartisan position as Blaine County justice of the peace.

In Chouteau County, four Republicans squared off to take the seat of Commissioner Ken Evans. Evans, also a Republican, did not run for re-election.

Stan Klimas was the victor in that race. Klimas received 628 votes while candidates Alex Giles received 397, Brian Scott received 395 and Dean Vielleux received 449.

In the race for sheriff and coroner, incumbent Vern Burdick received 1,045 votes in the Republican primary. His opponents Daniel Holskey received 556 and Brian Hulme received 252.

Burdick will go on to face his Democratic challenger, Edward Fike, who received 78 votes in his uncontested primary.

Four Republicans ran to take the place of Democratic Clerk and Recorder JoAnne Johnson, who did not run for re-election.

Lana Claassen won that contest with 1,131 votes and will take the office, as there are no other-party candidates.

Kit Bobick received 128 votes, while Lauree Ferda received 195 and Diane Jones received 369.

Three incumbents retained their seats in uncontested primaries.

Republican County Attorney Stephen Gannon re c e ived 1 , 4 7 4 vo t e s, Republican Treasurer-Assessor Sherry Rowland received 1,576, and Justice of the Peace Susan Spencer received 1,613 in that nonpartisan race.

In Liberty County, Republican Commissioner Russ Tempel withstood a challenge from Clifford Wickum.

Tempel won the primary with a vote of 297-269, and will retain his seat as there are no other-party candidates.

In the nonpartisan race for Liberty County justice of the peace, challenger Holly Frederickson defeated incumbent Neal Eveland, 407-282, although both candidates advance to the general election.

In uncontested races, four incumbents kept their seats. Democrats Rhonda Pimley and Richard Burrows retained their seats, clerk and recorder and sheriff-coroner-public administrator, respectively, with 113 votes for Pimley and 99 for Burrows.

In the Republican primary, Rachel Ghekiere retained her seat as superintendent of schools with 477 votes and Gayle Dahlen retained her position as treasurer-assessor with 511 votes.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020