Havre Daily News - News you can use

Havre's Smith honored for baseball


Havre High senior Brandon Smith is about to embark on his final year of football. But on Wednesday, Smith was honored for the outstanding season he had in baseball.

A member of the Havre North Stars American Legion baseball club, Smith was named to the Class A Montana/Alberta American Legion All-State team as an outfielder. Smith was one of 23 players selected from the four Class A districts to the Class A All-State Team for the 2011 season. He also earned Northern A All-District honors.

Smith led the North Stars in total hits, RBIs and extra-base hits this past season, and he was also Havre's top pitcher throughout the season. A three-year player for the North Stars, Smith has had an outstanding baseball career in Havre.

Despite a strong finish to the season, where the North Stars ripped off eight straight conference wins at one point in July, Smith was the only Havre player selected to the Northern A squad. Great Falls had five players selected, while Fort MacLeod had four. Tri-County pitcher Scott Bye was also selected to the all-district team.

A All-State

Blake Phelps, Lewistown Redbirds; Tommy Leland, Glasgow Reds; Shelby Zorn, Billings Cardinals; Cole Dooper, Laurel Dodgers; Zach Cortese, Laurel Dodgers; Andrew Stefalo, Deer Lodge Wranglers; Tanner Johnson, Gallatin Valley Outlaws; Andy Peterson, Dillon Cubs; Brett Franklin, Belgrade Bandits; Gianfranco Filippini, Gallatin Valley Outlaws; Dalton Cook, Great Falls Electrics; Jake Hansen, Fort Macleod Royals; Brandon Smith, Havre North Stars; Tanner Lee, Great Falls Electrics; Taylor Wolstenhome, Fort Macleod Royals; Justin Everts, Mission Valley Mariners; Billy Hanna, Bitterroot Bucs; Chris Herbig, Libby Loggers; Trevor Brown, Bitterroot Red Sox; Bryton Guckenberg, Kootenai Valley Rangers

A Eastern District

1B—Blake Phelps, Lewistown; 2B—Dylan Hughes, Glasgow; SS—Tommy Leland, Glasgow; 3B—Konner Wiechman, Billings Blue Jays; Utililty—Kenny Nilles, Laurel; OF—Kyle Parry, Lewistown; Conner Brown, Miles City; Zach Cortese, Laurel; C—Shelby Zorn, Billings Cardinals; P—Tate Wickman, Miles City; Dylan Woodhall, Lewistown, Cole Dooper, Laurel

A Western District

1B—Chris Clary, Mission Valley; 2B—Chris Herbig, Libby; SS—Bryton Guckenberg, Kootenai Valley; 3B—Jake Capko, Bitterroot Red Sox; Utility—Austin Erler, Bitterroot Bucks; OF—Trevor Brown, Bitterroot Red Sox; Coe Golden, Bitterroot Bucks; Anthony Contonio, Missoula; C—Billy Hanna, Bitterroot Bucs; P—Justin Evertz, Mission Valley; Jared Winslow, Libby; Josh Rustad, Mission Valley

A Southern District

1B—LD Severson, Belgrade; 2B—Tanner Rook, Helena; SS—Gianfranco Filippini, Gallatin Valley; 3B—Tanner Johnson, Gallatin Valley; Utility—Dakota Crowe, Deer Lodge; OF—Ryder Kulbeck, Bozeman; Andy Petersons, Dillon; Jordan Jennings, Deer Lodge; C—Dan Hansen, Helena; P—LD Severson, Belgrade; Brett Franklin, Belgrade; Andrew Stefalo, Deer Lodge

A Northern District

1B—Scott Held, Great Falls; 2B—Anthony Bonilla, Great Falls; SS—Dalton Cook; 3B—Hayden Shackel, Fort Macleod; Utility—Maverick Price, Fort Macleod; OF—Taylor Wolstenhome, Fort Macleod; Caleb Zsednai, Vauxhall; Brandon Smith, Havre; C—Justin Pfennigs, Great Falls; P—Jake Hansen, Fort Macleod; Scott Bye, Tri-County; Tanner Lee, Great Falls.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021