Lights go 1-2 on the mat at Cliff Keen national duals


It was a long road to Springfield, Ill., and the Cliff Keen National Duals for the Montana State University-Northern wrestling team.

And once there, the Lights had a rough go on the mat.

The sixth-ranked Lights opened the 16-team, dual tournament with a narrow win over Morningside of Iowa on Saturday morning. The Lights beat Morningside 25-24 on criteria, which means the dual was actually tied at the end, but the Lights earned the tiebreaker and advanced to the quarterfinals.

Against Morningside, Northern got a critical win by fall from Cameron Neiss at 133 pounds, as well as a pin by Ethan Hinebauch at 165. MSU-N also got critical wins from Kody Reed at 197 pounds and Nick King at heavyweight, and the Lights needed both of them to advance to the next round as top-ranked Evan Hinebauch was shocked with a9-0 major decision loss to Morningside's Brian Block.

Things didn't go as well for the Lights in the quarterfinals as they were taken down by third-ranked Southern Oregon, 35-8. The Lights' only wins in the dual against the Red Raiders came from Neiss at 133 and Hinebauch at 184, as well as King in the heavyweight match.

The loss to SOU was Northern's second of the season and dropped the Lights into the loser-out round, where they were upset by 16th-ranked Dakota Wesleyan, 22-15.

In their third and final dual of the tournament, the Lights got a major decision form Anthony Weerheim at 149 pounds, a technical fall from Max Payne at 174 pounds and a decision from Hinebauch at 197 pounds.

The top-ranked UGF Argos advanced all the way to the championship dual of the tournament, but were beaten by second-ranked Grand View, 31-7. Havre's Myles Mazurkiewicz went 1-1 for the Argos over the course of four duals.

After a long trip, it will be a short turnaround for Northern. The Lights head back on the road to Prescott, Ariz., for the Mile High Duals on Friday and the Mile High Open on Saturday.

Montana State-Northern 25, Morningside, IA 24

(Montana State-Northern wins on criteria)

125 — Alex Rust (Morningside) md. Riley Miller (Montana State-Northern) 11-0; 133 — Cameron Neiss (Montana State-Northern) pin Doug Thompson (Morningside)1:55; 141 — Nate Taylor (Morningside) by forfeit;149 — Anthony Weerheim (Montana State-Northern) dec. Matthew Maresh (Morningside) 8-3; 157 — Jordan Langley (Morningside) pin Edward Cheff (Montana State-Northern) 1:15; 165 — Ethan Hinebauch (Montana State-Northern) pin Jared Wildeboer (Morningside) 5:51; 174 — Joseph Sievert (Morningside) md. Jared Miller (Montana State-Northern) 9-0; 184 — Brian Block (Morningside) md. Evan Hinebauch (Montana State-Northern) 9-0; 197 — Kody Reed (Montana State-Northern) pin Andrew Anthofer (Morningside) 4:10; 285 — Nick King (Montana State-Northern) dec. John Sievert (Morningside) 9-7 in SVO.

Southern Oregon 35, Montana State-Northern 8

125 — Mitchell Lofstedt (Southern Oregon) tf. Riley Miller (Montana State-Northern), 16-1; 133 — Cameron Neiss (Montana State-Northern) dec. Luis Baltazar (Southern Oregon) 6-4; 141 — Brad Tamarshiro (Southern Oregon) won by forfeit; 149 — Jimmy Eggemeyer (Southern Oregon) dec. James Petersen (Montana State-Northern) 9-5; 157 — Tommie Norton/Hooper (Southern Oregon) pin Edward Cheff (Montana State-Northern) 0:35; 165 — Derek Mestrovich (Southern Oregon) pin Ethan Hinebauch (Montana State-Northern) 3:21; 174 — Brock Gutches (Southern Oregon) md. Max Payne (Montana State-Northern) 12-3; 184 — Evan Hinebauch (Montana State-Northern) dec. Austin Vanderford (Southern Oregon) 3-1 in SVO; 197 — Derek Rottenberg (Southern Oregon) tf. Kody Reed (Montana State-Northern) 15-0; 285 — Nick King (Montana State-Northern) dec. Ethan Hinton (Southern Oregon) 8-4.

(Montana State-Northern deducted one team point for misconduct.)

Dakota Wesleyan 22, Montana State-Northern 15

125 — Zach Nelson (Dakota-Wesleyan) dec. Riley Miller (Montana State-Northern) 4-3; 133 — Richard Rios (Dakota-Wesleyan) dec. Cameron Neiss (Montana State-Northern) 7-2 in OT; 141 — Dusty Paulsen (Dakota-Wesleyan) won by forfeit; 149 — Anthony Weerheim (Montana State-Northern) md. Raymond Rickenbach (Dakota-Wesleyan) 14-3; 157 — Trever Devestern (Dakota-Wesleyan) md. James Petersen (Montana State-Northern) 17-8; 165 — Danny Hutcheson (Dakota-Wesleyan) dec. Mickey Cheff (Montana State-Northern) 9-7 in OT; 174 — Max Payne (Montana State-Northern) tf. Tyler Sarringar (Dakota-Wesleyan) 24-9; 184 — Kody Reed (Montana State-Northern) dec. Kyle Hoisington (Dakota-Wesleyan) 8-4; 197 — Evan Hinebauch (Montana State-Northern) dec. Shea Klooster (Dakota-Wesleyan) 4-0; 285 — Josh Geppert (Dakota-Wesleyan) dec. over Nick King (Montana State-Northern) 3-1.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023