Havre Daily News - News you can use

Havre's Stocker named Central A All-Conference


November 21, 2013

Daniel Horton

Havre High senior middle blocker Martha Stocker was named Central A Honorable Mention All-Conference for her play during the 2013 season.

Belgrade and Lewistown dominated the Central A volleyball scene in 2013, and the postseason honors highlight that fact.

The Class A All-State and Central A All-Conference honors have been released, and both lists are littered with Panther and Golden Eagle athletes. But one Havre High Blue Pony athlete was also recognized during the Ponies’ third consecutive No. 3 finish at the divisional tournament.

Havre High senior middle hitter/blocker Martha Stocker was named All-Conference Honorable Mention. Stocker helped lead the team in blocks and kills this season.

But both the Belgrade and Lewistown programs cleaned up with two All-State athletes. The Panthers had two First-Team All-Conference selections, three Second-Team All-Conference Selections, and two girls named Honorable Mention. The Eagles had four First-Team selections, two Second-Team selections, and one Honorable Mention. Jade Schmidt of Belgrade was named the Central A coach of the year.

Livingston also grabbed one First Team and one Second Team selection, and had two athletes named Honorable Mention. But Browning also showed a lot of improvement this year, not only by getting a surprise win over the Ponies at the divisional tournament this year, but also earning their share of honors. The Indians received a Second-Team All-Conference honor in Witney Bremner, and an Honorable Mention honor in Shelsey St. Goddard.

The Ponies finished the 2013 season with an overall record of 7-14. They finished the regular season as the Central A’s No. 4 seed, but took third place in the Central A divisional tournament.

Central A Volleyball

Class A All-State - Taylor Woolman, Sr., Belgrade; Tanna Holliday, Sr., Belgrade; Mikaela Olson, Sr., Lewistown; Paige Zibell, Sr., Lewistown.


First team - Taylor Woolman, Sr., Belgrade; Tanna Holliday, Sr., Belgrade; Mikaela Olson, Sr., Lewistown; Paige Zibell, Sr., Lewistown; Michelle Monger, Jr., Lewistown; Tegan Lane, Sr., Livingston; Teale Danell, Sr., Lewistown.

Second team - Whitney Bremner, Sr., Browning; Megan Hawkins, Sr., Livingston; Olivia Kleinsasser, Jr., Belgrade; Maddie Comes, Sr., Lewistown; Jaree Mane, So., Lewistown; Madison Page, Sr., Belgrade; Kyra Fisher, Jr., Belgrade.

Honorable mention - Shelsey St. Goddard, Sr., Browning; Paige Schladetsch, Sr., Belgrade; Jamie Woolman, Jr., Belgrade; Sydney Weir, Jr., Lewistown; Martha Stocker, Sr., Havre; Meadow Ingram, Jr., Livingston; Lindzi Printz, Jr., Livingston.

Coach of the year - Jade Schmidt, Belgrade.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 01/12/2018 12:28