News you can use

Local players named to state all-tournament teams

BELGRADE - Kyle Stantus, who had 41 points and 16 rebounds in Libby's 96-89 triple-overtime win over Belgrade in the title game, was named the Most Valuable Player for the State A tournament in voting by media and tourney officials.

Stantus hit a three near the end of regulation to force the first overtime. The 6-foot-4 senior scored 75 points and grabbed 40 rebounds to Libby to its first boys basketball crown in 38 years.

Joining him on the first team were Mike Bell and Caleb Salsbury from runner-up Belgrade, Cory Brothers for third-place Havre and Jace Sullivan of fourth-place Sidney.

At the Class C state tournament in Billings, Brockton senior guard Tyson Bauer was selected the Most Valuable Player of the State C boys basketball tournament held at Billings MetraPark Arena.

Bauer scored 92 points in the three games (30.7 points per game), helping the Warriors to their first State C title.

Teammate Jayce Lambert, who scored 25 points in the championship game to join Bauer on the all-tournament first team. Also named were Dutton-Brady's Colby Bliss and state runner-up Big Sandy's Gage Brumwell and Jay Jamieson.

Casey Weston of Brockton and Mason Ophus of Big Sandy were named to the second team along with Matt Tranmer of Dutton-Brady, Bodie Tobin of Gardiner and Kale Eike of Melstone.

State A All-Tournament

First team

Kyle Stantus, 6-4, sr. Libby(MVP)

Mike Bell, 6-0, sr. Belgrade

Caleb Salsbery, 5-11, sr. Belgrade

Jace Sullivan, 6-1, jr. Sidney

Cory Brothers, 6-2, sr. Havre

Second team

Aaron Sutton, 6-0, jr., Libby; Jake Swartzendruber, 6-4, sr., Libby; Nelson Hilger, 6-3, sr., Sidney; Torrey Thomas, 6-0, sr., Dillon; Jared Wiegel, 6-1, so., Havre.

Honorable mention

Chris Harrington, Belgrade; Chris Dyk, Dillon; Tyler Hedalen, Havre; Kraig Rieger, Belgrade; J.D. Fields, Columbia Falls.

State C All-Tournament

First team

Tyson Bauer, 6-1, sr. Brockton (MVP)

Colby Bliss, 6-1, sr. Dutton-Brady

Gage Brumwell, 6-6, sr. Big Sandy

Jayce Lambert, 6-3, sr. Brockton

Jay Jamieson, 6-2, sr. Big Sandy

Second team

Casey Weston, 6-0, sr., Brockton; Mason Ophus, 6-4, sr., Big Sandy; Matt Tranmer, 6-3, sr., Dutton-Brady; Bodie Tobin, 6-3, soph., Gardiner; Kale Eike, 6-2, soph., Melstone.

State AA All-tournament

First Team

Don DeGooyer, 6-4, sr., CMR

Casey Briggs, 6-5, sr., Butte

Chase Sukut, 6-1, sr., Billings West; Chad Jonart, 6-0, sr., Butte

Ryan Bagley, 6-4, sr., CMR

Second team

Travis Hartman, 5-10, sr., Great Falls Russell; Jordan Hasquet, 6-8, sr., Missoula Sentinel; Mike Ferriter, 6-2, sr., Helena; Cole Salo, 5-9, sr., Butte; Greg Gysberg, 6-4, sr., Great Falls Russell.

Honorable mention

Sean Herrin, sr., Helena; Chris Anderson, sr., Billings Senior; Jesse Corbett, sr., Missoula Big Sky; Kellen Hasquet, jr., Missoula Sentinel; Nathan Weidenaar, jr., Bozeman; Austin McCracken, sr., Billings West; Stephen Thomas, sr., Missoula Big Sky.

State B All-Tournament

First team

Aaron Barnett, Fairfield (MVP)

Chris Sundberg, Columbus

Dane Fisher, St. Labre

Wade Jacobsen, Cut Bank

Colin Luoma, Fairfield

Second team

Stephen Nickisch, Forsyth; Eric Lawrence, Forsyth; Chris Stephens, Forsyth; Keithan Gregg, Cut Bank; Justin Meier, Conrad; Gus McDonald, St. Ignatius.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 02/22/2024 10:33