News you can use

Three Pony boys tabbed in the Central A

Havre High senior Brandon Smith (left) was one of three Blue Ponies to earn Central A All-Conference honors for the 2011-12 season.

HHS junior Thurman Holdsclaw (right) was named Central A Honorable Mention for the season.

The Havre High boys basketball team came on strong late this season. The Blue Ponies battled through a lot of tough talent, and came up just short on a state tournament berth.

Blue Pony senior Ryan Brandt earned Central A Second Team All-Conference.

Still, there were plenty of awards to go around for the Blue Ponies.

With a 4-4 record, the Central A Ponies finished as the No. 3 team in the conference this season. They made a solid run at the divisional tournament in Great Falls, and even finished as the No. 3 team. But the Ponies hopes of a state birth were cut short, as Browning defeated Livingston in the championship game, eliminating the possibility for a challenge game by HHS.

Ryan Brandt and Brandon Smith were two of the HHS leaders this season, and were awarded with Central A Second Team Team All-Conference honors. Brandt averaged over 10 points per game, but also led the Ponies with a team-high 37 steals and 60 assists. Smith led the Ponies with over 13 points per game, as well as averaged almost six rebounds per game.

Thurman Holdsclaw also got a nod this post season with Honorable Mention accolades. Holdsclaw averaged almost seven points per game and led the Ponies with seven rebounds per game. Holdscalw also had 27 steals this season and 32 assists.

The rest of the Central A was also appropriately honored.

Ray Augare (Browning) and Scott Roseberg (Livingston) were both named Co-Coaches of the year. And Josiah Davis (Browning), Marcus Payne (Livingston) and Decker Willson (Livingston) were named All-State. Payne, Davis and Willson, as well as Landon Willyerd (Livingston) and Charles Old Chief (Browning) were also named 1st Team All-Conference.

Dallas Lussier (Livingston), Andy Butcher (Lewistown) and DeeJay Lazy Boy (Browning) were named Second Team All-Conference. And Trevor Mahn (Belgrade), Gary Monroe (Browning), Kyle Parry (Lewistown), Jared Bryant (Belgrade) and Jonathan Hall (Browning) were also named honorable mention.

Central A All-Conference

First Team

Josiah Davis, BRO; Marcus Payne, LIV; Decker Wilson, LIV; Landon Willyerd, LIV; Charles Old Chief; BRO.

Second Team

Ryan Brandt, HAV; Brandon Smith; HAV; Dallas Lussier; LIV; Andy Butcher, LEW; DeeJay Lazy Boy, BRO.

Honorable Mention

Thurman Holdsclaw, HAV; Trevor Mahn, BEL; Gary Monroe, BRO; Kyle Perry, LEW; Jared Bryant, BEL; Jonothan Hall, BRO.


Reader Comments(0)