News you can use

Regents change name of 2-year colleges

HAVRE (AP) — The state's two-year colleges are getting new names aimed at advertising their expanding missions.

The Montana Board of Regents approved the new names Friday. The regents have been expanding the colleges to offer more offerings for those looking to transfer to a four-year college.

The rebranding initiative promotes the schools' development beyond just technology colleges.

The names will be Bitterroot College UM for the Hamilton school; City College at MSU-B for the Billings campus; Gallatin College MSU for the school in Bozeman; Helena College UM; Highlands College of Montana Tech in Butte; and Missoula College UM.

The board voted to study the proposed name for the current Great Falls College of Technology for another month, and perhaps come up with an alternative to the "Great Falls College MSU" proposal.


Reader Comments(0)