News you can use

Frontier Women's All-Conference announced

The Frontier Conference wrapped up its women's basketball season on Monday night with Westminster College blasting Carroll College 63-48 in the championship game in Salt Lake City.

The league also announced its All-Conference selections and postseason honors on Monday night, and unfortunately, no Montana State University-Northern players were honored. The Skylights certainly had players deserving, including 2012 honorees like Jordan Bruursema and Nikki Tresch. And Northern finished fourth in the Frontier's regular season, as well as reaching the playoff semifinals. Rocky Mountain College and Dickinson State also didn't have a player honored, though those teams finished closer to the bottom of the league.

Westminster senior Nicole Yazzie was honored as the Frontier Player of the Year, while Griffins' head coach Shelly Jarrard was named Coach of the Year. Carroll senior Megan Patterson was named Newcomer of the Year, while RMC's Haleigh Crnkovich and Westminster's Cydney Tibbetts shared Defensive Player of the Year honors. UGF's Erin Legel was named Freshman of the Year and Westminster's Tia Pappas was honored as the 6th Player of the Year.

The Frontier Conference men's honors will be announced tonight during the conference championship game. UM-Western hosts Rocky Mountain College in Dillon for the conference championship.

Frontier Women's All-Conference

First Team

Torrie Cahill, Carroll; Megan Patterson, Carroll, Annie Kane, Lewis-Clark State; Sammi Bignell, UM-Western; Cydney Tibbitts, Westminster; Nicole Yazzie, Westminster.

Second Team

Kelsey DeWit, Montana Tech; Mandy Machinal, Montana Tech, Erin Legel, Great Falls; Allie Eastman, Westminster; Kelsie Wells, Westminster.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 02/24/2024 07:08