Havre Daily News - News you can use

Three Ponies named Class A All-State


December 10, 2013

Lindsay Brown

Havre High sophomore quarterback Dane Warp, left, gets away from a Miles City defender during a Class A playoff game last month in Havre. Warp earned Class A All-State honors this season.

Now that the 2013 Class A All-State football list is out, the book can officially be closed on the high school football season.

The list was released last Friday, and three Havre Blue Ponies were named Class A All-State for the 2013 season, including two repeat performers.

Blue Pony sophomore quarterback Dane Warp was named All State for the second straight season, as was senior cornerback Thomas Gruber. Senior safety Trevor Jensen was also named All-State for this season.

Warp was one of six quarterbacks selected All-State and is the only underclassmen of the bench. The rest of the list is composed of juniors and seniors.

As defensive backs, Gruber and Jensen faced three of the other All-State QBs this season, twice playing Miles City’s Ben Herzog, once against Belgrade’s Brayden Konkol, and against Columbia Falls’ Jared Trinastich in the Class A quarterfinals last month.

Gruber led the Blue Ponies in interceptions and pass breakups this season, while Jensen was one of Havre’s top tacklers from his safety spot.

In all, the Central A Conference garnered 14 All-State selections, between Havre, Belgrade, Livingston and Lewistown.

Class A

All-State Team


C – Donovan Hucke, sr., Dillon; Weston Marsh, sr., Billings Central; Avery Whelan, jr., Belgrade.

OG – Colton Gavne, sr., Livingston; Riely Dublin, jr., Laurel; Zach Cullen, jr., Billings Central.

OT – Marcus Ferriter, jr., Butte Central; Ben D'Alton, sr., Billings Central; Kordell Cummins, sr., Hardin; Gage Smith, sr., Whitefish; Jacob Dilworth, jr., Frenchtown.

TE – Troy Scott, sr., Dillon; Connor McGree, sr., Butte Central; Logan Wilcox, sr., Lewistown.

WR – Teague Blome, sr., Hamilton; Kris Cleveland, sr., Hamilton; Kale Guldseth, sr., Butte Central; Alec Haughian, jr., Miles City; Tristan Walker, sr., Belgrade; Alex Presnell, sr., Columbia Falls; Ty Morgan, jr., Columbia Falls.

FB – Mitch Kaufman, sr., Laurel.

RB – Wyatt Kingston, sr., Butte Central; Holden Ryan, jr., Billings Central; Austin Kendall, sr., Sidney; Zach Darling, sr., Columbia Falls; Cody Lemmons, sr., Frenchtown.

QB – J.D. Ferris, jr., Dillon; Josh Bauder, sr., Hamilton; Ben Herzog, sr., Miles City; Brayden Konkol, jr., Belgrade; Dane Warp, so., Havre; Jared Trinastich, sr., Columbia Falls.


DE – Zach Gavlak, sr., Stevensville; Dace Fisher, sr., Sidney; Colin Holtz, jr., Billings Central; Beau Peasley, jr., Miles City; Derek Marks, so., Belgrade.

DT – Chris Emter, sr., Livingston; Jaden Bryant, sr., Belgrade; Spencer Ross, jr., Columbia Falls; Christian Coiner, sr., Dillon.

OLB – Brady Hislop, sr., Polson, Gabe Chilson, sr., Dillon; Grady Blewett, jr., Belgrade.


ILB – Carson King, sr., Dillon; Ethan Reich, sr., Anaconda; Mathew Martinez-Tillman, sr., Laurel; Garet Fowler, sr., Belgrade; Dylan Stenseth, sr., Lewistown; Ike Schweikert, jr., Columbia Falls; Calub Thilmony, sr., Whitefish.

S – Mick Paffhausen, sr., Dillon; Jonah Oberg, jr., Laurel; Trevor Jenson, sr., Havre; Cedrick Smith, sr., Polson; Josiah Osbourne, sr., Columbia Falls.

CB – M.J. Simkins, sr., Dillon; Thomas Gruber, sr., Havre; Dave Rizzollo, sr., Whitefish; Sean Foley, sr., Whitefish; Jesse Byorth, jr., Billings Central.

RET – Koby Ruff, jr., Belgrade; Carl Johnson, sr., Hardin.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017