Havre Daily News - News you can use

Smash Hit: Demo derby thrills


July 21, 2014

Eric Seidle

T.J. Daulton's car, right, is rammed by Jonny Austin during a heat of the 2014 Jaycees Demolition Derby Sunday night at the Great Northern Fairgrounds.

In one of the most anticipated events of the Great Northern Fair, the annual Jaycees Demolition Derby lived up to the hype as mud flung through the air, the smell of burning rubber was rampant and sounds of roaring engines filled the fairgrounds, closing out the week with a bang.

In front of a packed house at the Arena inside the Great Northern Fairgrounds Sunday night, patrons watched as derby cars raced and smashed into each other in a slew of different events until only the best were left standing.

In the end, Austin Moore took home first place in the Demolition Derby and the $2,000 in prize money that went with it. Moore bested Winston Powell, who finished second and Jimmy Albertson, who was third. Powell and Albertson earned $1,500 and $1,000, respectively.

Ben Mader also had a good night, taking home first place in the Herby Derby and winning $400.

There was also a new event added called the Bump and Run, in which the cars raced around the track instead of smashing into each other for supremacy.

Eric Seidle

Dustin Schwarzrock competes in the 2014 Jaycees Demolition Derby Sunday night at the Great Northern Fair.

In the modified version of the Bump and Run, Seth Hamilton was the winner, earning $275, while Dustin Kenny came in second, which got him a $165 payday. Mike Powell came in third place and took home $110.

In the stock version of the Bump and Run, Kenny Erickson won the contest and $275. Luke Brown finished second winning $165, while and Randy Christofferson was third and walked away with $110.

There were four heats leading up to the Demolition Derby championship finale, with two winners in each heat that won $50. The winners included Moore, Willard Hinkle, T.J. Daulton, Garrett Powell, Ryan Erickson, Winston Anderson, Chris Vaughn and Josh Haas. There were also two consolation runs with two winners apiece that each earned $50; the four winners were Albertson, Johnny Austin, Josh Parrow and Kenny Erickson.


Reader Comments

EM59501 writes:

The photo that names the driver as Caleb Malair is a photo of Caleb McLain.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017