Havre Daily News - News you can use

Class A boys rule at 33rd annual HIT


March 25, 2019

Havre Daily News/Colin Thompson

Havre High's Tommy Brown shoots during the 33rd annual Hi-Line Invitational Tournament this weekend in the Armory Gymnasium. Brown was part of the champion Class A squad.

While the MHSA basketball championships were completed a couple of weeks ago, many of the players who led their teams to state titles were in Havre over the weekend, taking part in the Hi-Line Invitational Tournament

The HIT was hosted by Montana State University-Northern and it was the school's 12th year doing it as well as the 33rd year HIT has been played. And following the three-day basketball extravaganza inside the Armory Gymnasium, in the boys tournament, it was the Class A team that emerged victorious in the All-Star tournament between classifications.

The Class A boys opened up with a win over the Class C team Thursday night and completed their undefeated run, knocking off the Class AA team for the second time 110 to 99. Brendon Johnson of Livingston was the leading scorer in the win with 24 points. Dylan Holst had 33 points to lead the Class AA squad. Trae Hugs also added 21 points for Class A, while Tyree Whitcomb finished with 18. Carter Ash also added 16 for Class AA which also got 15 from Cam Ketchum and 14 from Alex Germer.

In the win over Class C Thursday night, Chrishon Dixon was the spark for Class A with 21 points in the 102-83 victory. Riley Spoonhunter added 18 and Johnson had 14. Brody Grebe (Melstone), who ended up being named Tournament MVP, had 23 points. Grebe also scored 28 points, 27 and 36 in his three other games for an average of 28.25.

In the first meeting between the Class A boys and Class AA, Class A rolled behind 23 points from Hugs of Hardin. Tanner Goligoski also had 18 and Whitcomb added 17. Ash had 17 to lead the way for Class AA. That game was Friday and also on Friday, the Class A boys knocked off Class B despite Sayer Patton of Choteau scoring 36 points for Class B. Goligoski led Class A with 20, while Hugs and Dixon, who signed to play at Montana State University-Billings had 16.

Class C got on board with a win Saturday, defeating the Class B boys 113-100 thanks to 43 points from Caleb Bellach of Manhattan Christian. Patton had 26 for Class B and Ry Olsen had 24. Also Friday, Class AA knocked off Class C 106-100. Grebe led with 27 points for Class C, while Frolich-Fair of Missoula Sentinel led AA with 22.

The AA boys wrapped up a berth in the title game after a 101-96 win over the Class B boys. Patton had 33 for Class B in a losing effort. LaRance led Class AA with 21 points. Also, in the consolation game Saturday, Class C edged out Class B 108-98. Grebe and Colter Miller went back-and-forth and each had 36 points for their respective teams. Bellach added 22 and Keeley Bake also scored 21 for Class B in the loss.

In addition to the tournament, a 3-point shootout was held Friday and on the boys side of things, Isaac Bell walked away as the winner. Jaden Graham of Lewistown won the Slam-Dunk competition. The Mr. Defense award went to Dixon, while Mr. Hustle went to Colter Miller. Patton and Smoker led in steals; Patton also tied with Miller and Abe Johnson for the rebounding title and Dixon, as well as Caden Handren tied for the most assists.

The All-Tournament team included Grebe, Dixon Frohnlich-Fair, Hugs, Miller, Patton, Johnson, Bake, Bellach and Holst.



Class A 102, Class C 83

Class A - Chrishon Dixon 21, Riley Spoonhunter 18, Brendon Johnson 14, Tanner Goligoski 11, Jaden Graham 10.

Class C - Brody Grebe 23, Alex Schriver 12, Sam Leep 10.


Class A boys 108, Class AA boys 82

Class AA - Carter Ash 17, Cam Ketchum 16, Abe Johnson 11

Class A - Trae Hugs 23, Tanner Goligoski 18, Tyree Whitecomb 17, Riley Spoonhunter 16, Sam Gray.

Class A boys 119, Class B boys 106

Class B - Sayer Patton 38, Keely Bake 18, Ry Olsen 16, Colter Miller 13, Joseph Williamson 10.

Class A - Tanner Goligoski 20, Trae Hugs 16, Chrishon Dixon 16, Sam Gray 16, Riley Spoonhunter 14, Tyree Whitcomb 13, Brendon Johnson 12.

Class C boys 113, Class B boys 100

Class C boys - Caleb Bellach 43, Brody Grebe 28, Alex Schriver 10

Class B boys - Sayer Patton 26, Ry Olsen 24, Kell Schwers 16, Colter Miller 12, Keeley Bake 11.

Class AA boys 106, Class C boys 100

Class C - Brody Grebe 27, Caleb Bellach 17, Sam Leep 13, Isaac Bell 12.

Class AA - Tony Frolich-Fair 22, Dylan Holst 21, Cade Tyson 15, Alex Germer 13, Abe Johnson 13.


Class AA boys 101, Class B boys 96

Class AA -- Camdyn LaRance 21, Cam Ketchum 16, Dylan Holst 16, Tony Fair-Fornhlich 14.

Class B -- Sayer Patton 33, Ry Olsen 22, Colter Miller 21.

Boys consolation

Class C boys 108, Class B boys 98

Class C - Brody Grebe 36, Caleb Bellach 22, Greg Whitesell 19.

Havre Daily News/Colin Thompson

Chinook's Isaac Bell goes up high during the HIT slam dunk contest Friday night in the Armory.

Class B - Colter Miller 36, Keeley Bake 21, Kenny Smoker 10, Sayer Patton 10.

Boys championship

Class A 110, Class AA 99

Class A - Brendon Johnson 24, Trae Hugs 21, Tyree Whitcomb 18, Sam Gray 13, Chrishon Dixon 13.

Class AA -- Dylan Holst 33, Carter Ash 16, Cam Ketchum 15, Alex Germer 14.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 09/15/2020 01:25