Havre Daily News - News you can use

By Tim Leeds 

Rocky Boy special election set


Rocky Boy's Indian Reservation has a full slate of candidates for a special election Thursday, Aug. 18, to fill a vacant spot on the Chippewa Cree Tribe's governing council, the Business Committee.

The reservation's election board reports that 13 candidates have filed for the election to fill the one seat.

The vacancy was created when Bruce Sunchild, the former vice chair of the tribal council, won a July 5 election to become the permanent chair of the council.

Raymond "Jake" Parker Jr. resigned as chair May 23, one day before pleading guilty in federal court to a charge of embezzling from the tribe. Parker admitted to unauthorized use of a tribal credit card.

Sunchild took over as interim chair before winning the special election in July.

The candidates for the open spot on the council are: Luanne Belcourt, Stacey Small, Donovan Stump, Jesse W. Henderson, Wade Colliflower, Gilberta R. Belgarde, Tim Koop Sr., Kenny Writing Bird, Samuel "Sammy" Camper, Louis S. Luke Parisian, Donald "Goodvoice" Meyers, Misty "Brooks" Denny and Harriet Standing Rock.

The person elected this month will serve the remainder of Sunchild's term, through November 2012. The position will be up again in the 2012 election.

Sunchild, who was vice chair of the Business Committee before taking over as interim chair and then chair, was elected in 2008 after a short break from his previous service on the council.

The Aug. 18 election will be held in the gymnasium at the old Stone Child College. Eligible voters are people who are duly enrolled members of the Chippewa Cree Tribe and are at least 18 on election day. A tribal identification card must be presented at the polling place on the day of the election.

Absentee voting will start Monday, Aug. 15, at 8 a. m. and will close at 4:30 p. m. Wednesday, Aug. 17. Qualified voters who will be absent on election day may appear before the election clerk and apply for an official ballot.

For more information, people can contact Election Board Chair Cecelia Parker at 395-5705, or contact the election board clerk.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021